Spending my Wedding Anniversary in the Convent


This past week, through planning my son’s visitation with his father, I realized that my first wedding anniversary since our divorce was this Saturday.  Yes, it would have been our 15th anniversary. Then it occurred to me where I would be on Saturday…volunteering at work for a Women’s Wellness Retreat in the Convent and I could not have hoped to have been anywhere else. God knew just how to embrace me in the love and lives of others who have lived through divorce as well.

And while we had a VERY amicable divorce, and no issues during the process, I still feel a deep sense of loss.  I don’t want to mislead your train of thought…I am very happy where I am in my life right now.  I still feel that I am working down the path that God is laying out for me, and I know the decisions made leading to the divorce were the “right” ones.  But I still had a sense of loss, and maybe even of guilt, remorse for having hurt him.

Over the entire weekend, God enlightened my life and opened my heart.  He cradled and comforted me, and I am so grateful!

Let me know what you think!

