Just Talk to Someone


We had our family reunion this weekend.  Why we have in the hottest week of Maryland’s year, I will never know!  But we had a great time.

In fact, the great time started in the car ride to the Eastern Shore.  Since it is a 2-1/2 hour drive alone, I had some time to reflect and pray.

Then, a minor epiphany.  Most of my family, with whom I frequently brag about as being close, did not actually have a real clue about what is going on in each others lives.

Don’t get me wrong, we all have a BLAST when we are together.  There is always some minor drama…always craziness.  But there is also always love and laughter. (i.e. when Uncle Glenn dumped the ice water bucket over my head! – I will add pics when he uploads them)

The truth of my epiphany glared at me.

“I” don’t take time to really open up to people, and consequently, I don’t really take time to actually call my family members and chat…just for poops and giggles.  I have been so shut off from everyone.  So, I made it a point to try and talk to everyone and let them know how much I loved them.  The results?  Some wonderfully enlightening conversations.

Sometimes, it just really helps to talk to someone, open your heart to them.  Let them open their heart to you.  Even if it is a stranger…or family.  I have had some of the most profound conversations with family, with people I barely know AND with family I barely know 🙂  in the past two weeks.  Maybe it is God sending me angels to help me through the tough times.

…it’s working!

2 thoughts on “Just Talk to Someone

Let me know what you think!

