Sonuva Single Mother…


Recently, I gave my son, Ashton, a journal.  I have been trying to encourage him to write his thoughts and feelings.

He is 9 years old, and he has just survived his parent’s divorce.

Last year, he had to change schools 3 weeks before the end of school all because his teachers and principal were bullying him.

His niece and nephew, who had been living with him for a year and a half were taken with no notice by their mother.  This tore up Ashton’s whole family.

AND, then once he settled into a nice “home” and made some friends, he had to move again!

His Mother was also in and out of the hospital for surgeries that he didn’t understand.

Oh, and during the move, he found out he was adopted with such grace and resilience.

Plus, him and his brother James spar like brothers, being goofy one minute, and yelling at one another the next minute.

I know he is sad sometimes, because it results in aggressive behavior, which is so unlike him.  It makes my heart so sad that he has to live through all of this stuff.  Most of the time, though, he is quite resilient and has a smile on his face and energy to last an army.  I don’t want to feel like I am letting him down by not giving him a life that is carefree and busy with suburban family activities and sports.  blah blah

But I DO realize that these events in our lives have given me a chance to become closer to him also.  The tragedies have given me a chance to teach Ashton how to overcome, or when you don’t have control over an outcome, to look at the blessings anyways.  We try each day, together.  Some are better than others, but we still have each other, and we are a pretty cool family.  🙂

Yadda, yadda.  But still, how does a parent NOT feel guilty and responsible?  Any tips on how to minimize the strain on him while not over-protecting him from the realities of our world?  Would love your prayers and advice.

One thought on “Sonuva Single Mother…

  1. Didn’t read this yet….just want you to know I just found your blog. I should log into FB with the computer more often instead of using my phone. I’m going to read from the beginning. Luv ya girlie!

Let me know what you think!

