Before you can lose weight, you have to understand the HOW and the WHY


OK, a month into this, and I have reached my first 20 pound goal. I am very happy with that. I am gunning forward, but I still have the needling in the back of my head that I have yet to address the true issue. The HOW of how I became overweight. Firstly, I always have been…well, since about 4th grade.

Part of the HOW is medical and attached to the Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome. However, the greater portion of the HOW is buried deep within these layers of me (no pun intended).

Three different times in the past, I have lost between 45-70 pounds, only to gain it back within a year or two. No, it is not that the diets or exercise don’t work…it was that I didn’t work.

At the first sign of stress or emotional turmoil, I would “make myself feel better” with food, or “zone out” in front of the TV. The combination of the two is a sure fire way to ruin such a wonderful accomplishment.

I have found that it is easy when your head is in the game…when the weight is beginning to come off and you are fitting into clothes that have only haunted the deepest darkest corners of your closet. Right now, I am on fire! I have felt this way before. I can remember an instance after losing about 50 pounds, when I said, “I cannot go back to the way I was. I just won’t let it happen.” Not only did I “let it happen” but I added another 15 pounds to it!

See, it is easy to have the “gung-ho” attitude when things are going well, but it is quite the different story when you are facing marital issues, health issues, or just plain everyday sadness/boredom/lackluster.  It is easy to lose focus when your purpose is no longer in sight.

Which leads me to the WHY. WHYdo I want to lose weight. I know that I need to be inline with the WHY, because that forms the purpose. The purpose is truly what motivates us. Without a clear cut purpose, we lose focus. I can’t afford to lose focus…

I would like to share this article about motivation and WHY. Of course, their WHY pertains to WHY you want to lose weight: http://www.peertrainer.com/diet/how_to_get_the_motivation_to_lose_weight.htm

Let me know what you think!

